Churches & chapels
St James and St Paul, Marton
Manchester Road, Marton
One of the finest examples of the Medieval wooden church remaining in England today, this beautiful little halftimbered, black and white church is indeed claimed to be one of the oldest survivingspecimens of wood and plaster churches in Europe. The oldest part of the church is the nave, the chancel being a later addition. The belfry is built separately from the nave, being of wooden uprights and cross-pieces. On the west wall are traces of the paintings which were common in Medieval times, also on this side are large oil paintings of Moses and Aaron holding the tables inscribed with the Ten Commandments.Open daily 10am - 5pm
Tel: 01260 27489
Capesthorne Chapel, Siddington
Capesthorne Hall Estate
This little Chapel, was consecrated in 1722 “to the Honour of the Holy and Undivided Trinity”, and services have been held in it continuously from then until the present day. Upon the death of her husband in 1887, Mrs (Augusta) Bromley Davenport altered the interior of the Chapel in his memory. The terracotta panels are by George Tinworth, the sculptor, and the mosaic reredos is made by the Venetian firm of Salviati, inspired by the gem of the family collection Giotto’s "Dormition", which at that time hung in the Drawing Room, but was later sold to the Dahlem Gallery, Berlin. On the altar the wooden cross was made in the Capesthorne joiner’s shop, and is the exact size and shape of the original 15th century cross.Open: Sunday, Monday and Bank Holidays 12 noon - 4pm.
Tel: 01625 861221 www.capesthorne.com
Holy Trinity, Rainow
Rainow Road, Rainow
Built around 1845 in the picturesque hill village of Rainow above Macclesfield, the church offers stunning views from its front door. Inside, the stained glass East Window and original box pews are noteworthy, as are the beautiful engraved glass doors recently created to celebrate the church’s 150th anniversary, depicting an angel standing over the Church.
The church is always open. Tel: 01625 572013
St John the Baptist (Jenkin Chapel), Saltersford
Saltersford, nr Rainow
In a beautiful rural setting near Rainow, surrounded by a belt of trees on an otherwise bare hillside, Jenkin Chapel was built in 1733 by local farmers. Within the simple cottage-type building are the original box pews, and high, octagonal pulpit. The unspoilt nature of the building and its setting made this a perfect location for the filming of the BBC’s recent production of Jane Eyre and it is a very popular destination for walkers in this lovely countryside. Apart from services it is locked because of its isolated position, but guided visits can be arranged in advance and are available for groups.
Open: Evensong is at 3pm on the second and fourth Sundays between Easter and Christmas.
Tel: 01625 572013
St. Stephen's (Forest Chapel), Macclesfield Forest
It is a popular and delightful walk from Tegg’s Nose Country Park to Forest Chapel, in the beautiful hilly surroundings of Macclesfield Forest. The first Church was built here in 1673, but the present building only dates from 1834, charming in its simplicity. It is never more popular to visit than in August, when the church is decorated with flowers and rushes for thetraditional rushbearing service.
Open: During daylight hours
Tel: 01625 572013
All Saints Church, Siddington
Siddington, nr Macclesfield
This very pretty rural church was built of timber framework, with wattle and daub filling. The Church is always open and is decorated every Easter and Christmas. At Harvest Festival, on the 2nd weekend of October, it is filled with over 1,000 corn dollies in addition to fruit, flowers and vegetables. Visitors come from far and wide to admire the now famous corn dollies, which remain in place for a month after the festival. Next to the church, Golden Cross Farm offers excellent B&B accommodation.
Open: at all times Tel: 01260 224358
The Redesmere Fete takes place the last Saturday in July, from 1.30pm to Midnight, and begins when the Waterlily Queen is rowed across Redesmere in her swan-shaped boat for her coronation. The fete continues at Siddington Village Hall right through to midnight.
Christ Church, Macclesfield
Catherine Street, Macclesfield
This large and impressive town church was built in 1775-76 at the expense of Charles Roe, founder of Macclesfield’s silk industry. John Wesley preached here several times - the only Church of England in Cheshire which invited him to preach inside. A magnificent first-floor gallery is supported by cast-iron pillars, which were hidden in wooden casings by the Victorians. The original box pews are still in place. On the ground floor they could be purchased or rented, and seating in the gallery was free. Of particular note are the East Window of Victorian stained glass and wall monuments to Charles Roe and to David Simpson, the first minister of Christ Church, renowned for his sermons and a tireless worker for social reform.
Open: 1 April - 30 September 10am-3pm Mon Tue Fri
1 Oct - 31 March 10am-3pm Mondays
Or by appointment
Tel: 01625 423894
Occasional concerts and exhibitions throughout the year.
St. Bartholomew, Wilmslow
Chancel Lane, Wilmslow
The Parish Church of St. Bartholomew is today structurally almost the same as it was when it was reconstructed in the early 16th century. The crypt chapel, incorporated into the present building, dates from probably the 13th century. The nave is divided from the side aisles by five pointed arches, which show a peculiarity in that those on the north side are some two feet higher than those on the south side. Much of the interior of the nave reflects the two Victorian restorations carried out in 1862 and 1897. However
the fine oak screens separating the side chapels from the nave and chancel date from the 16th century. The church contains what is reputedly the finest brass in Cheshire and commemorates Sir Robert del Boothe (died 1460) and his wife Douce.
Open: Wednesday 12 noon - 3pm
Thursday 10.30am - 12.30pm
Friday 10am - 12 noon
Saturday 12 noon - 3pm
Tel: 01625 520309
St. Mary The Virgin, Disley
The church originated from a Medieval act of piety of Sir Piers Legh of Lyme, who originally officiated in the Chapel. Building began in 1510 of what was then a Chantry Chapel and was completed in 1534. The Church was extensively enlarged by Richard and Thomas Orford in the 1800s adding the two side aisles and galleries.
The tower (with six bells) and the magnificent timbered ceiling of the Nave date back to the earliest origins of the Church. It also boasts Medieval stained glass and a magnificent Renn Organ installed in 1836. The base of Anglo-Saxon twin stone crosses can be found in the graveyard and suggest.
Open: Saturdays, June - September 10am - 4pm
Tel: 01663 764175
Church Lane, Sutton Lane Ends, Macclesfield
Built in 1840 after an energetic campaign by the silk manufacturing gentry to provide a place of worship for local agricultural workers, the attractive Parish Church of Sutton St James marks a meeting point between the foothills of the Peak District and the fields of the Cheshire Plain.
The Church retains its Victorian vicarage and school (now the church hall) but the interior has been considerably altered over the years. The chancel was added in 1871 and the beautiful wrought iron rood screen in 1909. The mosaic reredos, which depicts the infant Christ receiving gifts from the Magi, is a reproduction of one in St Mark’s Venice. The stained glass includes a window by the William Morris Company and the belfry contains a fine peal of six bells.
Today the Church remains a focal point of the village.
Open: Normally 'dawn to dusk', 7 days a week.
Tel: 01260 252228 www.suttonstjames.org.uk
4 King Edward Street, Macclesfield
From Macclesfield Library, the chapel can be found down a narrow passage way on the left hand side of King Edward St.
The simple barnlike Chapel is of local stones "from the common". The first meeting of Dissenters in Macclesfield was on August 24th 1690. The names of all those, brave enough in uncertain times to buy a seat and to commit themselves to contribute to the cost of the building, are still in the chapel’s possession and can be consulted. The list is remarkable for the number of women buying seats in their own right. In 1765 the Chapel was bought by John Brocklehurst and was closely associated with this family of silk manufacturers until the 1890s. In the mid 1830s the building was simply Gothicised and in 1927/8 it was carefully renovated. The Chapel remains plain and simple and is Grade 2* listed.
Open: We welcome visitors through out the year but it is essential to
telephone first. (We really do mean welcome!).
Tel: 01625 669233/615072
Concerts, craftemboidery fairs, other events in the planning. Please see our website.
St James the Great, Gawsworth
Church Lane, Gawsworth
In a picturesque setting, next to the village pond and historic Gawsworth Hall, the church dates back to the 15th century, the walls of the nave being built of limestone in 1430 and the Chancel and Tower of pink sandstone in 1480. The splendid roofs are 500 years old, the nave roof showing traces of its original brilliant colouring and gilt.
The tombs of four generations of the Fitton family stand on each side of the altar, including the effigy of Mary, the alleged dark lady of Shakespeare’s sonnets, and a maid of honour to Queen Elizabeth I.
Outside, admire the great 15th century tower (103ft high) and the many excellent window corbels with dripstones, shields of arms and gargoyles.
Open: 9am - dusk daily
Tel: 01260 223201 or 01625 267342
Congleton Road, Nether Alderley
St. Mary’s is a treasure trove, steeped in the history and romance of ancient Alderley. Like all great historic churches, 14th C St. Mary’s owes many of its unique features to the patronage of the local aristocratic family, the Stanleys of Alderley. View the unique Stanley Pew, 14th Century font, Musicians’ Gallery, 1200 year old Yew Tree and 17th century School House.
Open: Sundays 2pm - 4.30pm
from Easter Day until end of October and Bank Holiday Mondays. Other times by appointment. Groups are very welcome.
Tel: 01625 585226
Open weekend 11th - 13th April 2009 An exhibition with "The Village Artists" in conjunction with guided tours.
St Michael and All Angels, Macclesfield
Market Place, Macclesfield
The present Church was built in 1898-1901, designed by Sir Arthur Bromfield but a number of important earlier features remain, especially the Legh and Savage Chapels (15th/16th century) and some fine Medieval monuments, including a large memorial by the Stuart sculptor William Stanton, considered to be one of his best. The Savage Chapel contains stained glass by Morris & Co. The East Window and reredos are also noteworthy.
The church was reordered in 2003/4 to provide a stunning three storey Narthex (welcome area) and meeting rooms.
Open: Monday - Saturday 10.30am - 12.30pm
Tel: 07798 921265
A lively programme of concerts throughout the year, including Silk Brass.
St. John’s, Adlington
Brookledge Lane, Adlington
This daughter church to Prestbury was built in 1892, on the site of a former cottage and croft, part of the Adlington Hall Estate. Made from a flat pack, it is constructed of corrugated iron lined, with pitch pine in good condition. Chairs were replaced in the 1930s with pews made locally. Of particular interest are a millennium wall-hanging, a mosaic "Agnus Dei" and centenary kneelers. Inside is a restored war-memorial.
The paddock is planted with old varieties of apples, damsons and a millennium yew. Good disabled access. Leaflet available.
Open: By arrangement Tel: 01625 572761
Knutsford Methodist Church
Princess Street, Knutsford
Knutsford Methodist Church (KMC) was built in 1864 in the styles of early English Gothic complete with church rooms at the rear. The ‘stone steps’ at the church forecourt are the resited steps from which John Wesley preached in 1738 when visiting Knutsford. In 2006 the church rooms were redeveloped into KMC Community Centre and the church had a new side gallery added to meet the needs of a growing congregation.
Open: Wednesday 10am - 12 noon
Tel: 01565 652251
Brook Street Chapel, Knutsford
Brook Street, Knutsford
Elizabeth Gaskell (1810- 1865) is well known as the author of Cranford, a light hearted fictional depiction of the Knutsford of her day which has recently been televised to great acclaim. She and her husband William, a Unitarian Minister, lived in Knutsford and both are buried in the Chapel graveyard.
It was built around 1694 by dissenters following the Great Ejection of nearly 2000 ministers from the Church of England in 1662.
Spacious, peaceful gardens surround the chapel with seats and corners for quiet contemplation and include a mulberry tree of Shakespearian and Gaskell interest.
Open: Coffee mornings each Tuesday 9.30am - 11.30am.
Groups or individuals are welcome to visit by arrangement.
Tel: 01565 754465 or 01565 652665